Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

January 8, 2024

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on December 11, 2023, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Tronsen, High School Principal, and Mr. Casper, Associate Principal, presented the School of the Month report for the High School. They reviewed the objectives of their School Success Plan along with the action steps and progress.

Ms. Sponholz, Director of Student Services, presented a recommendation for space availability for new open enrollment students for the 2024-25 school year. She reviewed the space availability for regular education, which includes 25 for grade 4K, 30 for kindergarten, 50 for grade 1, 40 for grade 2, 40 for grade 3, 30 for grade 4, 30 for grade 5, 20 for grade 6, 40 for grade 7, 15 for grade 8, 25 for grade 9, 25 for grade 10, 20 for grade 11, and 0 for grade 12. She reported there is no space available for new open enrollment special education students due to caseload and enrollment projections.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the space availability for new open enrollment applicants for the 2024-2025 school year as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Gerber, High School Associate Principal-Activities/Athletics, presented a request for the High School Boys Swim team to join a cooperative with Horicon High School.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, to approve the High School Boys Swim team coop request as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Ms. Espinoza, High School Student Representative, reported on the activities of the High School FCCLA group, Key Club, FFA, Senior Class blood drive, and the Sources of Strength We Belong campaign. Upcoming music events include String Fling, Parade of Bands, and an Acapella performance with the Wisconsin Singers.

Mr. Prieve reported that the Operations and Teaching & Learning Committees did not meet since the last board meeting and the next meetings are scheduled for January 22, 2024.

Mr. Kraus requested board members provide him feedback or comments on the WASB 2024 proposed resolutions prior to the WASB Delegate meeting.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, recognized staff and administrators who are working through literacy training and efforts. He recognized bus drivers and snow plow drivers for their work to keep students safe. He announced the district was nationally recognized as one of the best districts in nation for Music Education and thanked music department and staff. He also thanked those who work to keep our schools safe and partnerships with local law enforcement.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, the board recess into closed session per pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees; and pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.85(1)(e) and (g), to deliberate or negotiate the purchasing of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified public business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session and to confer with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved. Specifically, to discuss and take action, if appropriate, concerning the terms of a proposed lease of District property and written legal advice regarding same.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. Nay-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees and terms of a proposed lease of District property.

Spielman moved, Kuntz seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following resignation: Amy Maier-Special Education Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (resignation effective 1/26/24).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: Kelly Braker-Special Education Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Medical Leave 2/26/24-4/8/24);

and Brittany Haugen-English Language Arts Teacher-Middle School (Medical Leave 5/19/24-end of 2023-24 school year)

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointments: Sawyer Breselow-Substitute Teacher-Middle School (LTE 2nd Semester 2023-24 school year); Katherine Holsapple-Special Education Teacher-Washington Elementary School (LTS 5/2/24-end of the 2023-24 school year); and Lisa Tennesenn-Speech & Language Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (LTS 2/26/24-4/8/24).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. Nay-None.

Mr. DiStefano presented administrator contracts that are due for 2024-2026 for Ryan Gerber, Robert Meyer, Tiffany Sponholz, and Nicole White effective July 1, 2024.

Kraus moved, Mason seconded, the board approve administrator contracts for 2024-2026 for Ryan Gerber, Robert Meyer, Tiffany Sponholz, and Nicole White effective July 1, 2024.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. No-None.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #546, #547, and #548) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Met Life, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Payroll Related Voucher, District Insurance, Health Savings Account (District), and Wisconsin Retirement System for a total of \$3,971,905.51. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, and Mason. Nay-None.

Kuntz moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 8:28 p.m.

/s/ Chad Prieve, President

/s/ Marge Jorgensen, Clerk